Write about the contribution of Telangana Praja Samithi to Telangana movement

Write about the contribution of Telangana Praja Samithi to Telangana movement?

Ans: The 8 point plan and other things of eye wash programs of Central Government could not satisfy the Telangana people. They had idea that Andhra people will not change and if they were allowed to continue in power in Telangana they will drain all the Telangana wealth to Andhra. Students felt happy as political leaders from Telangana started taking lead.

The Telangana Praja Convention founded in February 1969 was turned renamed as Telangana Praja Samithi on 25th March 1969. Ananthula Madan Mohan, an advocate from Siddipet, was the found of Telangana Praja Samithi. T. Purushotthama Rao was the first MLA to support Telangana Praja Samithi. Later this party was led by Marri Chenna Reddy.

Reddy Hostel Meeting: Leaders aspiring for separate statehood for Telangana met in Reddy Hostel on 8th and 9th March 1969.

Telangana Praja Samithi urged Telangana to observe 1st May 1969 as ‘The aspiration day of Telangana’. On the same day Telangana leaders were attacked at Raj Bhavan.

Vanchu Committee Report: The Vanchu Committee appointed by Central Government submitted its report on 27 September 1969. On the same day Marri Chenna Reddy announced stopping of Telangana Movement temporarily.

V.B. Raju United Front: In 1970, Valluri Basava Raju, a member of Legislative Assembly from Telangana led this United Front. TPS organized a series of strikes and demonstrations throughout the Telangana region to push their demand for a separate state. In June 1969 general strikes in Hyderabad organized by the TPS led to widespread violence as TPS supporters clashed with supporters of a unified Andhra state and with police.

In the 1971 Lok Sabha elections, TPS won 10 out of 11 seats in Telangana. However, in September 1971 TPS merged with Congress by Marri Chenna Reddy, the Telangana agitations temporarily disappeared and P V Narsimha Rao, a great person from Telangana region was made the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh to stop the allegations of Telangana people.

The party was revived again in 1983 with Vande Mataram Ramchander Rao, as the President, Pratap Kishore was the General Secretary. After the death of Vandemataram Ram Chander Rao, Gandhian Bhoopati Krishnamurthi (Telangana Gandhi) was elected President and led the party for nearly two decades up to his death in January 2015. After Bhoopati Krishnamoorthi Neera Kishore, was elected as President of Telangana Praja Samithi.

Though TPS party was founded with a noble aim, under the leadership of Marri Chenna Reddy and his uncle Konda Venkata Rangareddy the movement was totally misguided. Literally Marri Chenna Reddy and Konda Venkata Ranga Reddy cheated on Telangana people for their personal gain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *