Write about the agitation of Telangana people for Separate Telangana State

Write about the agitation of Telangana people for Separate Telangana State?

Ans: We can find the roots and spark to 1969 separate Telangana movement in Khammam. The discrimination in the appointment of employees in Kothagudem Thermal Power Station was brought to the light by Ramadasu. He observed that most of the jobs were filled with Andhra persons.

On 9th January 1969, a student named Ravindranath went fast unto death in Palvancha, Khammam. His fast unto death added fire to the fuel. Till then the unrest was in dormant stage. Everybody had same feeling but no one agitated openly. With Ravindranath’s fast unto death people started agitating openly. The procession during his fast unto death turned violent and people in Hyderabad showed their solidarity by agitating in Hyderabad.

Telangana Vidhyathula Karyacharana Samithi of Osmania University started Telangana movement on 13th January 1969. This organisation held its meeting in Osmania university.

Telangana Parirakshana Samithi was formed on 13th January 1969. Katam Lakshmi Narayana was its leader. Salabuddin Owaisi was its member.

K.R. Amos, N.G.O.s Association leader expressed his solidarity with the students’ movement.

Kasu Brahmananda Reddy was Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh at the time of 1969 Separate Telangana agitation. Kasu Brahmananda Reddy called for all party meeting on 19th January 1969. Decision was taken regarding 3 issues in this meeting.

  1. All the Andhra employees who were in the jobs reserved for Telangana persons should be sent to Andhra.
  2. Telangana funds should be used only for the development of Telangana.
  3. Requesting the agitators to call of the movement.

* All Party meeting took resolution to implement Telangana Safeguards. For this G.O. number 36 was issued.

* On 23rd 1969, students intensified their agitations. About 1000 students tried to set a sub inspector’s house on fire. Police foiled the attempt by firing, in which 17 students were injured.

On 29th January 1969, government called army to tackle with the agitators.

* G.O. number 36 also emphasized on sending the non-Telangana Andhra employees back Andhra by 23rd February 1969.

* On 31st January 1969, A RIT petition was filed in High Court against G.O. number 36.

On 3rd February 1969, High Court delivered judgment against appointments on the basis of nativity.

* On 18th February 1969, Supreme Court issued stay on G.O. number 36.

* On 23rd February 1969, Konda Venkata Ranga Reddy convened an all party meeting to discuss issues related to Telangana.

* On 28th March 1969, Supreme Court ruled out Mulki Rules.

* Kasu Brahmananda Reddy, the then Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, mentioning the development in Telangana in the past 12years, declared that separate statehood is a false demand, and it is not possible.

* On 28th March 1969, Supreme Court appointed Justice Vanchu committee, to provide job security to Telangana people. The then Attorney General Niren Day, former Attorney General M.C. Setalvad were members of Vanchu Committee.

* Konda Lakhsman Bapuji resigned for his ministry expressing solidarity to Separate Telangana Movement.

* On 29th March 1969, Konda Lakshman Bapuji founded ‘Prathyeka Telangana Congress Samithi’.

* Central Government appointed Vashishta Bhargava Committee to study the surplus funds of Telangana.

Many eminent persons in Telangana including poets expressed their solidarity to the meeting. During this movement Kaloji Narayana Rao, eminent Telugu poet, in said that ‘If a non local persons cheats on us, we should chase him out to the boarders of Telangana, if a local persons cheats on us, we should bury him in Telangana’.

“Gulami ki jindagi se mauth acchi”_ Konda Venkata Ranga Reddy.

8 Points Plan:

As the movement was intensified Central Government interfered and to pacify the agitators on 12th April 1969, it announced 8 Points Plan. As a part of this place Central Government decided to appoint 5 committees.

  1. Telangana Development Committee.
  2. Planning implementation committee.
  3. Lawyers’ Committee for Telangana Safeguards.
  4. Committee on the issues of government employees.

Justice Bhargava Committee declared that from 1956 to 1968, 285 million rupees of Telangana were used for the development of Andhra.

Eminent Economist C.H. Hanumantha Roa studied the report of Justice Vanchu and declared that if interest is calculated for the above mentioned period, the Andhra total amount is 1.174 billion rupees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *