Give an account of role of Telangana Rashtra Samithi in the achievement of separate statehood to Telangana

Give an account of role of Telangana Rashtra Samithi in the achievement of separate statehood to Telangana?

Ans: Kalvakuntla Chandra Shekhar Rao formed a political organisation ‘Telangana Rashtra Samithi’ (T.R.S.), on 27 April 2001, achieving separate statehood for Telangana as its sole aim.

On 11th May 2001, a public meeting was convened in Kareemnagar.

In 2001 elections, TRS won 2 Zillaparishad seats (Kareem Nagar and Nizamabad).

TRS party’s first annual meeting was convened in Nalgonda in 2002.

Ale Narendra, the founder of ‘Telangana Saadhana Samithi’ party merged it with TRS on 11th August 2002.

TRS party organized ‘Palle Baata’ and ‘Basthi Baata’ programmes in September 2002.

In March 2003, TRS Party organized Car Rally from Hyderabad to Delhi and on successful completion of the car rally; it convened a public meeting in Delhi 27 March 2003.

TRS Party convened its 2nd Annual meeting in Warangal. Deve Gowda, former Prime Minister of India attended this meeting.

In August 2003, KCR did Paada Yathra in Nalgonda district.

On 9th September 2003, a meeting of leaders aspiring separate states was convened in Delhi.

KCR was elected as the National level leader of news states.

In 2004 general elections, TRS party won maximum number of seats in Warangal. It could not win even one seat in Khammam.

On 28th October 2009, TRS party organized ‘Jail Bharo’ program against ‘free zone system’. On this occasion, KCR announced that soon he would go fast unto death.

On 29th November 2009, KCR started fast unto death demanding separate statehood for Telangana.

  1. Roshaiah, The then Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, convened an all party meeting on 7th December 2009.

On 9th December 2009, Chidambaram, on behalf of Central Government, announced that procedure for separate Telangana will be started.

K.C.R. withdrew his fast unto death on 10th December 2009.

On 3rd of February 2010, students of Osmania University convened a public meeting with the name ‘Telangana Gharjana’.

KCR strived to get the Telangana Bill accepted in parliament too.

Telangana State was formed on 2nd June 2014. N. Narasimhan was the first governor of Telangana State. On the same day, K.C.R. sworn as the 1st Chief Minister of Telangana State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *